1xBat Sporting Lines » CRICKET » Day 4 - Stump, New Zealand need 257 runs
Day 4 - Stump, New Zealand need 257 runs

Match Details 

Sri Lanka vs New Zealand

Venue - Hagley Oval, Christchurch

Toss Winner - New Zealand won the toss and opt to bowl first

Series - Sri Lanka tour of New Zealand, 2023

Date of the Match - Sunday, 12 March, 2023

Time - 3:30 AM (IST)

Season - 2023

Umpires - Michael Gough (ENG), Chris Gaffaney (NZ)

Third Umpire - Richard Illingworth (ENG)

Match Referee - Richie Richardson (WI)

Match Review

     On Sunday, March 12, at the Hagley Oval, Christchurch, New Zealand and Sri Lanka played in the 1st Test, day 4 match of the Sri Lanka tour of New Zealand, 2023.

     At the conclusion of Day 4 of the current first Test match between Sri Lanka and New Zealand in Christchurch, a fiery century from Angelo Mathews gave Sri Lanka the upper hand. Day 4 began with Sri Lanka at 83/3 and ended with them being bowled out for 302, giving the hosts a target of 285 runs. 

     Matthews scored 115 points for the visitors, while Dinesh Chandimal and Dhananjaya De Silva scored 42 and 47 points, respectively. When New Zealand decided to bat, Devon Conway was quickly dismissed, leaving the score at 28/1 at the time of the stumps. The hosts need 257 more runs to win, thus Tom Latham (11) and Kane Williamson (7) are standing at the wicket unbeaten.

Brief Score

     In the first inning, Sri Lanka have scored 355 for 10 in 92.4 overs (Oshada Fernando 13, Dimuth Karunaratne 50, Kusal Mendis 87, Angelo Mathews 47, Dinesh Chandimal 39, Dhananjaya de Silva 46, Niroshan Dickwella (wk) 7, Kasun Rajitha 22, Prabath Jayasuriya 13, Asitha Fernando 10, Lahiru Kumara 13, Extras 8)

     In the second inning, Sri Lanka have scored 302 for 10 in 105.3 overs (Oshada Fernando 28, Dimuth Karunaratne 17, Kusal Mendis 14, Angelo Mathews 115, Prabath Jayasuriya 6, Dinesh Chandimal 42, Dhananjaya de Silva 47, Niroshan Dickwella (wk) 0, Kasun Rajitha 14, Asitha Fernando 0, Lahiru Kumara 8, Extras 11)

     In the first inning, New Zealand have scored 373 for 10 in 107.3 overs (Tom Latham 67, Devon Conway 30, Kane Williamson 1, Henry Nicholls 2, Daryl Mitchell 102, Tom Blundell (wk) 7, Michael Bracewell 25, Southee 25, Matt Henry 72, Neil Wagner 27, Blair Tickner 2, Extras 13)

     In the second inning, New Zealand have scored 28 for 1 in 17 overs (Tom Latham 11, Devon Conway 5, Kane Williamson 7, Extras 5) 

What is the Score?

     New Zealand needed 257 runs.


The minimum comment length is 50 characters. comments are moderated
reload, if the code cannot be seen
There are no comments yet. You can be the first!