1xBat Sporting Lines » CRICKET » 56th match, MI vs KKR: Kolkata Knight Riders won by 52 runs
56th match, MI vs KKR: Kolkata Knight Riders won by 52 runs

     The Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) returned to winning ways in the TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 on Monday at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai, defeating Mumbai Indians (MI) by 52 runs. Despite Jasprit Bumrah's outstanding fifer in the first innings, Pat Cummins starred with a three-wicket haul to guide KKR to a comfortable victory. MI lost skipper Rohit Sharma's wicket early in the innings as he was caught behind off Tim Southee's bowling. With three fours at the top, Ishan Kishan was on the move. After four overs, MI were 26-1. Tilak Varma was caught at first slip by Andre Russell, as MI lost their second wicket.

     With Ramandeep Singh and Ishan Kishan in the middle, MI led 37-2 at the end of the powerplay. The two formed a strong bond and helped MI get out of difficulty. After Ramandeep Singh was caught at backward point, Russell took his second wicket. Tim David smashed three fours in his first three deliveries, but in the 13th over, he was unable to clear the ropes against Chakaravarthy. Kishan reached his half-century in the next over, but Pat Cummins took three wickets in the 15th over, including Kishan, and MI were 7 down.

     Cummins let up only 5 runs in his final over as MI needed 54 runs off the final three overs. MI lost their final three wickets as Karthikeya, Pollard, and Bumrah were run-out by the KKR fielders, who put up an outstanding performance.

     Earlier, KKR made five alterations to their starting eleven after being assigned to bat first. After hitting two sixes, Venkatesh Iyer gave KKR a strong start. The fifth over brought 17 runs, and Venkatesh Iyer and Ajinkya Rahane had put on a fifty-run partnership. After Iyer misfired a shot and was caught within the circle, Kumar Kartikeya took the first wicket. At the end of the powerplay, KKR led 64-1. Rahane was joined by Nitish Rana, who helped KKR reach 87-1 at the halfway mark. After the left-arm spinner shattered Rahane's stumps, Kartikeya took his second wicket of the innings.

     After striking two more maximums off Pollard's bowling, Rana clobbered two sixes in the same over and continued dealing in boundaries. KKR were 123-2 at the end of 13 overs, with skipper Shreyas Iyer joining Rana at the crease. After skipper Iyer was caught behind, Murugan Ashwin struck in his third over. With a six straight down the ground, Andre Russell was up and running. After dismissing the threatening Russell and the well-established Rana, Jasprit Bumrah flipped the momentum back in MI's favor. With five overs remaining, KKR were at 140-5. After dismissing Sheldon Jackson, Pat Cummins, and Sunil Narine in the 18th over, the right-arm bowler proceeded to chip away at the wickets.

     In the last over, Rinku Singh hit a six, but KKR lost their ninth wicket when Daniel Sams holed out to the deep. In the first innings, Bumrah only let up one run in the penultimate over, and KKR scored 165-9.

Scores: Kolkata Knight Riders 165/9 (Venkatesh Iyer 43, Nitish Rana 43; Jasprit Bumrah 5-10) beat Mumbai Indians 113 all out (Ishan Kishan 51, Kieron Pollard 15; Pat Cummins 3-22) by 52 runs.


The minimum comment length is 50 characters. comments are moderated
reload, if the code cannot be seen
There are no comments yet. You can be the first!