1xBat Sporting Lines » CRICKET » IPL 2022: MATCH 26 & 27 RESULTS
IPL 2022: MATCH 26 & 27 RESULTS

Match 26: Lucknow Super Giants won by 18 runs

     The Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) returned to winning ways in the TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 on Saturday at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai, defeating the Mumbai Indians (MI) by 18 runs. In his 100th IPL encounter, KL Rahul delivered an undefeated century to help LSG post a commanding total of 199/4, which they eventually won by 18 runs. LSG had made one change earlier in the day, with Manish Pandey replacing K Gowtham in the eleven. MI lost an early wicket of skipper Rohit Sharma, who was caught behind in the third over against Avesh Khan, as they chased a difficult total of 200.

     Dewald Brevis hit his first ball for four runs and used his offensive shots to keep the momentum going. Brevis struck two fours and a six against Chameera in the fifth over, allowing 20 runs to be scored. In the sixth over, the right-handed batter hit two fours but was caught within the circle by Avesh Khan, who took his second wicket of the session. Stoinis added to his wicket-taking record by rattling Ishan Kishan's stumps as MI lost their third wicket. MI were 86-3 at the end of ten overs, with Suryakumar Yadav and Tilak Varma at the crease.

     In the 13th over, Suryakumar Yadav and Tilak Varma put on a fifty-run partnership for the fourth wicket. Tilak Varma was removed by Jason Holder with a wonderfully struck yorker to terminate the partnership. Ravi Bishnoi dismissed the dangerous Suryakumar Yadav when the right-handed batter was caught in the deep with 75 required off the final five overs. Kieron Pollard smashed two consecutive sixes against Chameera in the 17th over, bringing the total to 68 off the final four overs. MI needed 43 off 12 deliveries after Fabian Allen was removed in the 18th over. In the penultimate over, Jaydev Unadkat smashed two fours and a six to reduce the equation to 26 required off the last over. 

     LSG won the game by 18 runs after Chameera conceded only six runs and took a key wicket of Pollard. After skipper KL Rahul, who was playing his 100th IPL game, dealt in boundaries against MI's opening assault, the LSG openers were off to a strong start. Quinton de Kock backed up his captain with strong top-order strokes, but the left-hander was trapped LBW by Fabian Allen in the final over of the powerplay, leaving LSG 57-1 after six overs. To begin, Manish Pandey smashed three fours as LSG continued to pile pressure on the MI bowlers with a steady stream of runs. 

     At the completion of ten overs, LSG were 94-1. In the 12th over, Rahul reached his half-century. After Rahul and Pandey each hit two fours in the 13th over, 18 runs were surrendered. After Pandey was bowled in the 14th over, Murugan Ashwin gave the Mumbai Indians the breakthrough. Marcus Stoinis hit a massive six with his first delivery of the game. Rahul, on the other hand, smashed two sixes and a four as LSG reached 150 in the 15th over.

     Unadkat took his first wicket of the innings in the 17th over, dismissing Stoinis. LSG skipper became the second centurion of the season with 22 runs off the penultimate over. LSG posted a tremendous total of 199/4 in the first innings, despite Deepak Hooda being caught behind in the final over.

Scores: Lucknow Super Giants 199-4 (KL Rahul 103*, Manish Pandey 38; Jaydev Unadkat 2-32) beat Mumbai Indians 181-9 (Suryakumar Yadav 37, Dewald Brevis 31; Avesh Khan 3-30) by 18 runs.


Match 27: Royal Challengers Bangalore won by 16 runs

     The Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) won the TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 on Saturday at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, defeating the Delhi Capitals (DC) by 16 runs. With an undefeated 66*, Dinesh Karthik once again came to the rescue for RCB, before Josh Hazlewood's brilliant 3-28 clinched a 16-run triumph. DC openers David Warner and Prithvi Shaw got off to a flying start as they chased 190. Warner got off to a good start by hitting Glenn Maxwell for a six over mid-wicket.

     In the second over against Siraj, Shaw hit his first six of the innings. Shaw was removed by Siraj after the right-handed batter holed out to deep square to end the fifty-run partnership for the first wicket. DC were 57-1 at the end of six overs, with Warner and Mitchell Marsh at the crease. At the 10-over point, DC was 79-1, thanks to Warner's half-century. In the 11th over, the left-handed batter smoked a six followed by a four-run slice off Harshal Patel.

     Warner's batting dominance came to an end in the 12th over when Hasaranga trapped the left-handed batsman LBW. As skipper Rishabh Pant arrived at the crease, DC needed 90 off 42 deliveries. In the 13th over, Pant smashed two fours, but Mitchell Marsh was run-out at the non-strikers end. In the 15th over, Hazlewood took two wickets. While Powell was caught behind on the opening delivery, DC lost their fifth wicket when Lalit Yadav was caught in the deep. DC scored 19 off the 16th over, needing 56 from 24 deliveries, after Pant and Shardul both hit sixes.

     Pant hit another six before Kohli's innings was ended by a spectacular one-handed catch at covers by Virat Kohli. Shadul Thakur smashed two sixes but was removed in the last over with DC needing 27 runs from the final over. Earlier, RCB, who were given the opportunity to bat first, lost both of their openers – Anuj Rawat and Faf du Plessis – early on. RCB captain du Plessis was caught in the deep off Khaleel Ahmed, while Anuj Rawat was trapped LBW on his first delivery by Shardul Thakur. 

     At the end of the powerplay, RCB were 40-2 thanks to Virat Kohli and Glenn Maxwell's 5 fours. Virat Kohli, the right-handed hitter, was run-out by Lalit Yadav's direct hit shortly after the powerplay ended. In the ninth over, Glenn Maxwell faced Kuldeep Yadav and hit two fours and a six for 23 runs. Suyash Prabhudesai was the second hitter to be dismissed, caught at backward point off the bowling of Akshar Patel. With a four against Thakur, Glenn Maxwell reached his half-century. In the next over, bowled by Kuldeep, the all-rounder was caught at long-on by Lalit Yadav.

     RCB were 115-5 with five overs to go after a calm couple of overs. Dinesh Karthik hit a maximum over deep square leg. Dinesh Karthik pushed his enormous strike even more, scoring 28 runs off Mustafizur Rahman's 18th over, which included four fours and two sixes. In the same over, Karthik reached his half-century, and RCB concluded the innings on 189-5 when the last over provided 17 runs.

ScoresRoyal Challengers Bangalore 189-5 (Dinesh Karthik 66*, Glenn Maxwell; Shardul Thakur 1-27) beat Delhi Capitals 173-7 (David Warner 66, Rishabh Pant 34; Josh Hazlewood 3-28) by 16 runs.


The minimum comment length is 50 characters. comments are moderated
reload, if the code cannot be seen
There are no comments yet. You can be the first!